Romance Novels

rndrbnlogoTopic: What changes have your seen in romance novels in the past decade? Is there a change in romance novel direction? Is there still a market for non-explicit sex stories?

When I first started reading romance novels, they were simply romances with maybe a shade or two of intrigue. Now a great many novels are romantic suspense, have a touch of mystery, or involve a kidnapping or two. When I first started reading them, the heroes were princes  — or perhaps princes of industry — millionaires, with a luxurious lifestyle. Now they’re more likely to be cowboys or soldiers.

 

So who am I reading these days? Donna Alward, Diana Palmer, Robin Carr, Norah Roberts, Jayne Ann Krenz, to name a few.

Am I reading the wrong authors, or has the genre really changed so much? Leave a comment and weigh in.

And while you’re at it, check out my science fiction romance, Broken Bonds. Yes, folks, the main character is a soldier.

Beverley Bateman http://beverleybateman.blogspot.ca/
Fiona McGier http://www.fionamcgier.com/
Connie Vines http://connievines.blogspot.com/
Skye Taylor  http://www.skye-writer.com/
Margaret Fieland http://www.margaretfieland.com/blog1/
Helena Fairfax  http://helenafairfax.com/
Anne Stenhouse  http://annestenhousenovelist.wordpress.com/
Marci Baun  http://www.marcibaun.com/
Diane Bator http://dbator.blogspot.ca/
Rachael Kosinski http://rachaelkosinski.weebly.com/
Rhobin Courtright http://www.rhobinleecourtright.com/

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Romance Novels

  1. Robin

    Hi Margaret
    Yeah, those millionaire heroes are now billionaires, but as you pointed out there are more options for romance reading today. I’ve noticed many authors, like Robin Carr, have the same village location settings.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Marci Baun

    Hi Margaret,

    It’s changed more than you see. The heroines are strong, but real women. The heroes can be billionaires, but they can also be regular guys. There are all ages of heroines and heroes now. It used to be they were 18 or so. The men were in their late 20s early 30s. (I never did like the age difference. It made my skin crawl. LOL) The face of romance has changed to be more inclusive as well.

    I read a lot of small press romances. There are so many more options when you do that. 🙂

    Marci

    Like

    Reply
  3. Skye Taylor

    I don’t miss the super rich, super powerful heroes either. I’m having too much fun reading about soldiers and firefighters and cowboys and engineers. I also like that the heroines have grown up too. Now they can have a career doing any of the above.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Anne Stenhouse

    morning, Margaret, I think it’s a good idea to check our own shelves in the first instance. I read loads of Jean Plaidy when I was a teen. Cannot stand the Tudors any longer. Funny thing – taste. Anne Stenhouse (sweet-ish, regency- ish, but with villain)

    Like

    Reply
  5. Fiona McGier

    I think there is enough variety available, that any reader can find what suits her/his taste. And with eBooks being so reasonable priced, you can check out unknown authors/genres, and grow your tastes.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s