I remember

I was thinking about old TV shows and remembered “I Remember Mama.” I was on the commuter rail headed for  Boston, and thus lacked computer access. I could recall a few things about the set, Mama, and two of the three kids, Nels (though I spelled his name earlyMorningSkyNils) and Dagmar. I didn’t remember Kathryn, the character who is doing the remembering. The series was based on her book, “Mama’s Bank Account,” which I read long after I’d seen and enjoyed the series.

Check out http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=4&cad=rja&ved=0CFIQtwIwAw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DikrM5zjA2d8&ei=8x8CU9msM-bbyQGRn4CoBQ&usg=AFQjCNFRy7ZRJ_F4_HUzk_VSDJQLfMuUMA&sig2=aIFaZNttSF3N2hK3SLZj3g&bvm=bv.61535280,d.aWc

if you want to watch an episode.

Speaking of remembering, I thought about our place in Connecticut, the house my father built (or caused to have built) before he met and married my mother. It had a great room, long before they became fashionable, three bedrooms, and a screened porch. According to dad, his friends teased him for building such a big place while he was still single. He doubtless had the last laugh. It was on Candlewood Lake, right on the water, and the back lawn sloped down to a dock and a float. There were woods on each side, as Dad had purchased three lots — he was fond of his privacy — and built the house on the middle one. The lake was an artificial one, and I often though about the evacuated, drowned villages and homes that had been flooded when the lake was created.

Check out my author page on MuseItUp Publishing for links to my books

 

Leave a Reply

