Meet Author J.Q. Rose

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi Readers. Glad you’re here. I appreciate you taking your time to stop in to visit. Please remember to leave a comment to be entered into the random drawing for prizes at the conclusion of the tour on March 21.–$10.00 MuseItUp Publishing gift certificate and free e-books.Coda To Murder 333x500(1)

It’s an old cliché that it “takes a village”. With this book it took a city,
Fellow authors in my Koffee Kuppe Writers Critique Group and writers in the Fremont Area District Library Writers Group helped to find inconsistencies in the action and timeline, typos, and keeping the character “in character.” But they weren’t all that picky all that time. These writers were great at brainstorming ideas for the story line and a source of encouragement and support as well as just a joy to share this time together. If you’re a writer, please don’t be shy about sharing your story with other writers in order to get some input and fresh eyes on your story.

My main character, Pastor Christine, found herself in situations not usually covered in seminary such as her church’s music director murdered in the church basement. I turned to my favorite pastor and friend, Pastor Ed, for advice and direction on how one would look at the circumstances from a pastor’s point of view.  His help in looking at all the relationships involving the pastor and church staff and the congregation and community helped me to round out the details.

Officer Doug was helpful in explaining police procedure in a small town police force. I didn’t know police throw a phone through a window to communicate with a hostage taker and not have to use a megaphone!

We are all familiar with the acronym for SWAT team…. SWAT, Special Weapons and Tactics. Doug’s explanation for SWAT is to Sit, Wait, and Talk in order to resolve a hostage situation. The example of that definition was clearly demonstrated in the latest kidnapping of the little boy from a school bus. The police wanted to wait for a peaceful ending to the incident, but in that situation it was impossible.

I listened and interpreted what the writers and the professionals told me, but if there are any errors or misinformation in the story, it is entirely my doing!

Cyber hugs and kisses are speeding through cyberspace to Lea Schizas, MuseItUp Publisher, and editors Kim Cresswell and Penny Ehrenkranz for their help in shepherding the raw manuscript into a finished e-book. I am proud to be a part of MIU knowing how important it is to the staff to offer the best book possible to their readers.

Also a huge thank you goes to my cover designer, C.K. Volnek for a spectacular, eye-catching cover that will attract readers’ attention. She took a spark of an idea from me and turned it into a lovely, emotional piece of art.

I can’t forget to thank all the authors at MuseItUp for their support and encouragement. Many authors who will be hosting me on the Coda to Murder virtual book tour are Muse authors. I am overwhelmed at how close people can become over cyberspace, never meeting face to face. I cherish these friendships.

My name appears as author on the book, but I have had a team who helped me to put it altogether. My thanks to all of you.

# # # #

TAGLINE: Pastor Christine Hobbs never imagined she would be caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer.

BLURB:  Pastor Christine Hobbs has been in the pulpit business for over five years. She never imagined herself caring for a flock that includes a pig, a kangaroo, and a murderer.

Detective Cole Stephens doesn’t want the pretty pastor to get away with murdering the church music director. His investigative methods infuriate Christine as much as his deep brown eyes attract her.

Can they find the real killer and build a loving relationship based on trust?

BUY LINKS:

Now available at MuseItUp Publishing- http://tinyurl.com/anax9x7
Amazon.com http://tinyurl.com/ap376tb
bn.com and major online booksellers.

BIO–After writing feature articles in magazines, newspapers, and online magazines for over fifteen years, J.Q. Rose entered the world of fiction writing with her first published novella, Sunshine Boulevard, released by MuseItUp Publishing in 2011. Her latest mystery, Coda to Murder, was released in February. Blogging, photography, Pegs and Jokers board games, and travel are the things that keep her out of trouble. Spending winters in Florida with her husband allows Janet the opportunity to enjoy the life of a snowbird. Summer finds her camping and hunting toads, frogs, and salamanders with her four grandsons and granddaughter.

Connect with J.Q. Rose online at
J.Q. Rose blog http://www.jqrose.com/
Girls Succeed blog http://girlssucceed.blogspot.com/
Author website http://jqrose.webs.com/
J. Q.  Rose Amazon Author Page http://tinyurl.com/aeuv4m4
Goodreadshttp://www.goodreads.com/jqrose

Enhanced by Zemanta
11 thoughts on “Meet Author J.Q. Rose

  1. Anne Duguid

    Fascinating to read about the writing and research process. Sounds like my sort of book and I’ll certainly be buying from MIU. Ace tagline and blurb too. Thanks Peggy for letting me know about J.Q.’s article today.
    As a MIU employee sadly I’ll have to be discounted from the prize drawing though hehe.

    Like

    Reply
  2. J.Q. Rose

    Hey Anne, I love your line–Ace tagline and blurb too. Sometimes I work harder on reducing a whole story down into a tagline and blurb a lot longer than writing the whole book!! LOL..Glad you enjoyed the article.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kay LaLone

    Critique groups are very important tools for a writer. I know I wouldn’t be the writer I am today without my writing group. Sounds like an interesting book, JQ

    Like

    Reply
  4. Wendy L

    Your thank yous remind me of the warm fuzzy feeling we get when we mix with like minded people. It’s moral support too as well as the practical help. Writers are lucky to belong to a family of writers and editors. I’m pretty sure quilters and craft people would understand. The police information was new to me. That type of research makes stories shine.
    It seems to me Pastor Christine and detective Cole have something in common right from the start so maybe they will build a loving relationship based on trust. We’ll have to read the book to find out.

    Like

    Reply
  5. J.Q. Rose

    Wendy, you are so right about belonging to a supportive group…warm and fuzzy indeed! I appreciate your kind comments…hmmm I wonder if the pastor and the detective do get together!! LOL…not telling….

    Like

    Reply
  6. Karen Cioffi

    J.Q., congratulations on your new book! Writing groups and critique groups are a big help when trying to get your manuscript just right. Your book sounds like a great read.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

