Write to Lose

oatmeal with strawberries, sugar-free chocolat...

oatmeal with strawberries, sugar-free chocolate syrup, & sugar-free chocolate chips (Photo credit: Newbirth35)

Karina Fabian has organize twelve of us who are committed to losing weight and blogging about it. We’re committed to six weeks to start with and to sharing our progress. I’ll be blogging about this once a week, and I may share something about the others from time to time. So here it is, the nitty-gritty, the current state of my weight and my plan:

 

NAME: Margaret Fieland

WHERE TO FIND ME:

 http://www.margaretfieland.com/

 http://blog.margaretfieland.com/

and the much-neglected http://relocated.margaretfieland.com/

WEIGHT LOSS GOAL: Lose five pounds.

FITNESS/APPEARANCE GOAL: Exercise (walk) at least five days out of the week

WHAT’S YOUR INITIAL GAME PLAN? Plan? What’s that? Um, not much. Cut back on cheese. Continue to stay away from wheat, which aggravates my arthritis. Cut down on my night eating.

ANY INSIGHT TO SHARE? Not much. I’ve been making slow progress. Over the past year, I’ve taken off ten pounds.

CURRENT WEIGHT: 179

Here is a poem I wrote about this:

Sweeties

Sugar addiction
is a brain
disease.
It changes
mood
memory
thinking.

A skilled counselor
can motivate
a sugar junkie
toward recovery
by providing
objective
feedback:
“You ate
the whole
cake.”

Professional treatment
can help
as can
stevia
splenda
equal.

Many sugar junkies
go days
without a hit.
They are employed
and appear
to function
normally
except when they
ingest sugar
they crawl
up the wall
and swing
from the chandelier.

Sugar junkies
are unpredictable.
one day
a piece of chocolate,
the next
the whole bar.

Recognize that
recovery
may not be
completely
smooth.
no matter
how many
candies
you eat
there is always
one
more.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Write to Lose

  1. J.Q. Rose

    I giggled at your poem. Oh so true. I love the sugar too!! I think real sugar is better for you than that plastic sugar substitute. But I have no scientific evidence about that. Just stay with moderate doses—easy to say, I know. Karina will probably crack the whip. Good luck to all of you!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. weight

    I’ll right away take hold of your rss as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me understand in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

