Guest post by Traci McDonald: Tech…nooooo…ology!g

 

Killing Casanova

Tech…nooooo…ology!g

 

By Traci McDonald

When I first became a profoundly blind writer, it terrified me. I couldn’t see what I was writing on a note to my kids; nor could I tell if I was making individual lines or just writing on top of what I had already written. There were many things I learned to live without: TV, scenic overlooks, colors, and even the ability to drive. I could not accept that I was too blind to write.

At the time I was working for Child and Family services as a Spanish translator and peer parent. Being gainfully employed and in need of services, The Utah State Division for The Blind and Visually Impaired was contacted and I was provided a copy of a program called “Zoomtext”. This is a screen enhancement program with a speech to text feature that allowed me to work by simply magnifying the screen until I could read the letters. This program worked fairly well for me for nearly ten years. That is, until I could no longer see the screen at all.

By this time I was writing and had three manuscripts finished with no way to go on. I attempted to purchase an updated version of the program but was informed it was a ‘borrowed copy and I must spend 1000 $ to buy the newest version.

If the money part wasn’t scary enough; I hadn’t been on the world wide web in…well, ever. The new screen reading software I was given as a result of my writing was a program known as JAWS. (Job Assistance With Speech). AS part of the training I had to finally learn the program and venture out onto the web. With my old program all I ever did was write word documents; this was a whole new world I had been absent from for 15 years.

I am a techno-moron. I can barely get my cell phone to work.  I was absolutely terrified of the internet. I couldn’t learn technology. I couldn’t learn all this computer mumbo-jumbo. I can’t figure out…

“Then you will fail as an author.” I was told.

Here I am, less than six months later: opening and reading e-mail’s, maneuvering sites like facebook and goodreads, and posting to my own blog, tracimcdonald.blogspot.comwriting blind. Thanks to the technology and advancement of companies like http://www.freedomscientific.com-the maker of JAWS humanware.com—the makers of all my talking clocks, watches, and digital recorders, and aisquared.com—the makers of zoomtext. I am no longer terrified of the technology. I still get frustrated with it and I yell at JAWS when he won’t just tell me where I want to go on the web, but now I know; even I can face technology with the threat of losing the ability to be a writer to motivate me to keep trying.

About the Book:

Killing Casanova is based in the small ranch community of Lindley, Nevada where Jake
Caswell claims the skills and reputation of infamous womanizer ‘Casanova’, until he
meets Cassie Taylor, who is seemingly oblivious to Jake’s irresistible charms. Jake
determines to add Cassie to Casanova’s list of conquests and unknowingly pulls her into
his troubled life. Cassie uncovers old tragic wounds and a world of violence she did not
expect, and her own life is at risk from Casanova’s enemies. Worse, she fears the truth
about him will leave her heart as the next victim of Casanova’s flawed perceptions. Will
Cassie be able to uncover the man behind the mask amidst the threat of peril? Is there
hope for love in a tangled web of danger and blind distrust?

Get a sneak peek of the book at http://youtu.be/SuE_kpSHock

About the Author:

Debut author Traci McDonald has been a writer since she figured out how to make words
on a page. Traci wrote for English classes like most people, but she wrote everything else
in between. Traci won minor competitions with short stories, poetry and lyrics before
becoming visually impaired. That is just a political correct way of saying Traci
McDonald is blind. Traci lost her eyesight 17 years ago, but it never stopped her from
living life and following her dreams. She has struggled with her health and raising kids,
prior to the publication of her first novel. Traci is very excited to see her dream in life
coming true. She lives in a small cozy town in the Mojave Desert, less than 150 miles
from Las Vegas, Nevada.

Traci McDonald has four other books in the process of becoming published and a whole
list of others she plans to write.

You can find out more about Traci McDonald and her debut romance novel during her
World of Ink Author/Book Tour at http://tinyurl.com/8nejedq

To learn more about the World of Ink Tours visit http://worldofinknetwork.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Guest post by Traci McDonald: Tech…nooooo…ology!g

  1. Susan

    So nice to meet you Traci. Thanks so much for sharing your challenges with all of us. I can’t begin to imagine your hardships, but I can identify with the techno idiocy, as I am terribly techno challenged for sure. You are an amazing person Traci McDonald; you inspire us all. I wish you great success with your new book, and know it will not be your last. Write on girl, you bring light to the world. Great post Margaret!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Barbara

    Hi Traci:

    Nice to meet another blind writer. I’m totally blind and became so because of a head injury. While I have some tech knowledge, I’m continually frustrated by people and sites that don’t even try to be accessible. I’ve had my first book accepted for publication, and so am starting the process. Would love to correspond with you if you’re willing. I can be contacted at batfam@charter.net.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

