Silly rhymes, or how I spent my journal time

Another Image courtesy of MS Paint

Painted with Pixels

I am apparently on a silly rhyme kick.

As you may recall, I started going “Morning Pages,” though mostly in the afternoon, about two months ago. A couple of times recently I have found my head filled with rhyme. Today is one of those days.

So here, folks, are some really silly rhymes:

Cabin Fever

cabin fever, got it bad
cabin fever burns me
cabin fever, flaring up
because my honey spurns me.

cabin fever, raging fire
fire will consume me
fire’s burning me to ash
fever’s going to doom me

cabin fever
cabin fever
cabin fever

Cat and Mice

scittter, scatter, little mice
the cat is going to get you
crawl into the holes tonight
if that cat will let you

kitty, kitty, come away
you would be a damper
round the table as they play
leave the mice to scamper


Dog Digger

;
the dog’s in the yard
she’s digging a hole
she hopes will go
right down to China

she pushes the dirt
and the grass clumps away
no digging do
could do finer

Tree, Wind

the tree is growing by the pond
the branches hanging over
a breeze is blowing hard today
a ripple in the clover

breeze blows columns
through the grass
on the pond,
see ripples

hawks are circling
overhead
as the wind’s strength
triples

wonder when we’ll
go to sleep
wonder when the
wind will

as I lay here,
counting sheep
waiting for it
to still.

hear the air,
it’s whooshing past
listen to its whistle
marigolds will bow
their heads
to the lowly
thistle

Editing
i’m off to cut and paste to my blog
i’m off to thundering edits
hear the clatter of words
as they race down the page
eager to earn some more credits.

3 thoughts on “Silly rhymes, or how I spent my journal time

Leave a Reply

