Words Matter Week 2011 challenge: day 5

Words, like moths, are captured by writers who pin them to the page in various forms. What writer’s work most deftly captivates you? Why?

O’Henry. I started reading O’Henry as a young teen. I thought I had a pretty good vocabulary, but he sent me to the dictionary every couple of sentences to look up new words. I fell in love with words, and the love affair continues to this day.

Another favorite writer I read as a teen was Damon Runyon. He wrote about New York, about Broadway, and as a native New Yorker, born and raised in Manhattan, I enjoyed reading about my city. He’s another writer who sent me to the dictionary, or to my father when the dictionary proved inadequate.

Leave a Reply

