Meet Author Jennifer Wylie

Jennifer Wylie was born and raised in Ontario, Canada. In a cosmic twist of fate she dislikes the snow and cold.
Before settling down to raise a family, she attained a BA from Queens University and worked in retail and sales.
Thanks to her mother she acquired a love of books at an early age and began writing in public school. She constantly has stories floating around in her head, and finds it amazing most people don’t. Jennifer writes various forms of fantasy, both novels and short stories. Sweet light is her debut novel to be published in 2011.
Jennifer resides in rural Ontario, Canada with her husband, two boys, Australian shepherd a flock of birds and a disagreeable amount of wildlife.

Tell us a little about yourself

I’m a stay at home mom of two darling boys. When I’m not reading or writing (or editing) I putter about with various crafts. Otherwise I try to to be Supermom and keep my chaotic house in some semblance of order. I suppose I should also note I live in Ontario, Canada. Yes we get a lot of snow. I dislike snow. 😛
When did you start writing?
I started writing in public school, but really got into it in high school. It was just something I wanted to do, needed to do. I have so many stories in my head and they need to come out. I did go to university and got a degree, however things happen, as they tend to do, and I ended up being a Mom rather than finding a career. I wouldn’t change that for the world. I didn’t write for a number of years when the kids were little but once they were a bit older, and my brain started functioning again, the need to write came back. Writing is something I can do from home, so I certainly lucked out there. 🙂

Why did you start writing fantasy and science fiction?
I grew up reading fantasy and science fiction from a very early age. I had barely reached my teens before my mother had me reading Pern books. So far I don’t think I have the technical savvy to write sci-fi, so all of my stories are some type of fantasy.

Are you a plotter or a pantser?
Plot? That word sounds familiar… 🙂 I don’t write things out, or do story boards. I will imagine scenes in my head, like a movie, until they are perfect, and then write them down. Occasionally near the end of a book I will jot down a sentence or two of notes, mostly to make sure I don’t forget to tie up lose ends.

How did you end up with Echelon Press?
I had read about Echelon Press online and found them interesting. I started following them on Twitter and had some nice tweets with Karen there and also in a comments section on another’s blog. I checked out the publishers website, and also the books they’d published so far and thought they would be a great publisher for me. I have been very pleased with everything!

What are you working on now?
I recently finished a young adult fantasy book which has been submitted to my publishers. I’m currently working on a sequel to it. I’m also puttering at a few other books and short stories. I sometimes almost wish my mind would stop coming up with ideas for a while so I could get caught up. 🙂 My second short story to be published in March is currently in edits, so that has been keeping me busy as well.
What’s the hardest thing about writing fantasy?
The hardest part is stopping. There are so many things which can happen it is easy for a book to go on forever. I often have trouble finding an ending, even when I am planning a sequel. Many of my books have turned into a series, at least in the planning stages.

What kind of research do you do, and how?
If I need to research I do so with the most wonderful Google. I rarely research in advance, but do it as I go. Since my books are all in worlds of my creations there often isn’t very much I actually do have to research.

Any advice for other writers?
Always keep writing. You can always improve, and practice helps this. Not only do you need to know how to write, but to edit. Research editing online, make sure you are using correct grammar and punctuation, be wary of being repetitive in your word use. If you can find readers or editors to go over your work then use them. Fresh eyes are always helpful.
If you are searching for a publisher I definitely recommend you create a web presence. Most either require this or it is an added bonus. Have a website, twitter, facebook, blog. Even if you aren’t published yet you can gain followers over time. It is also an excellent way to meet authors, agents and publishers.

Any favorite writers?
I’ve just always loved reading and writing and it just comes to me. I have too many favorite authors to count, and too many supportive loved ones and friends to mention. 🙂 I’m a lucky girl I guess.

What’s next?
Editing, editing, writing, editing… My next short story, The Forgotten Echo was released March 1, and my fantasy novel Sweet Light in May, both through Echelon Press. I’ve a number of shorts and another book also submitted, and am writing away whenever I have the time on new work. I’m currently looking into getting a clone so I have time to mop the floors.

Jump by Jen Wylie

If you were told to jump off of a bridge would you?

Perhaps it would depend on who was doing the asking. Our heroine has spunk and a sense of humor, however suffers from an extreme case of inappropriate clothing. When things take a turn from dangerous to worse what will she do when fantasy becomes reality? Warning: May include hot leather clad men, singing and demons.
Jump is available at :
OmniLit
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

You can find Jen at:
Jen’s website:
Jen’s blog:

11 thoughts on “Meet Author Jennifer Wylie

  1. Stephen Tremp

    Best wishes with your current and your follow up books! Editing is fun although time consuming. Of course, hiring an editor to look over the final MS version is a must. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Magdalena Ball

    “Editing, editing, writing, editing…” – aint that the truth! Of course editing is another form of writing, but comes from a very different mindset to the drafting process. Good luck with the new book!

    Like

    Reply
  3. The Old Silly

    As a professional editor, I appreciate greatly authors who can do a good self-edit before sending it to me for final editing. Saves me time, them money, and also helps me keep what little hair I have left, lol.

    Enjoyed the whole interview, and Jen, this … “suffers from an extreme case of inappropriate clothing” Hahahaaa … love that line!

    Marvin D Wilson

    Like

    Reply
  4. VS Grenier

    What to say the others here haven’t. Great interview and so true about the editing, revising, writing and doing it all over again. I have to agree with the comment about hiring an editor to look over your final ms. I have found my ms is in a better position for publication when I do this.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

