Meet Robert Medak

Meet Robert Medak

Robert Medak is a freelance writer, editor, book reviewer, aspiring marketer, and aspiring author. He spent 37 years in Telecommunications, and upon retiring he decided to follow his dream of being a writer.Robert was born in San Pedro, CA, and spent most of his life in Southern California. In June of 2008, he with his wife, three dogs and three cats, moved from California to a small town in Kansas.

Robert began writing professionally in February of 2006. He has written both technical how-tos while in telecommunications, and nonfiction articles, how-to, and blog content since retirement from the company he worked for. Robert has written or ghost written over 350 articles and 80 book reviews.

Robert built a website where he offers his services, and maintains five blogs. He also maintains two blogs for AllBook Reviews, and does marketing for AllBooks. Robert created a social networking site for freelance writers at Freelance Writers, an invitation only site. He also maintains a critique group at Yahoo Groups called critiquings. Robert created a course for writers at Writers’ Village University (WVU) which he has facilitated, he has facilitated other courses at WVU. He also helped establish a Creative Writing Workshop at WVU.

Where can readers find you on the web?
Robert Medak Writing & More is my business: http://stormywriter.com

My WordPress blog about freelance writing: http://rjmedak.wordpress.com/

My WordPress blog for kids and about animals: http://kidsandanimals.wordpress.com/

My Blog about writing: http://rjmedak.blogspot.com/

My Book review blog: http://rjmbookreviews.blogspot.com/

A list of my social media sites (subject to change): http://xeesm.com/RobertMedak/

How did you get started in writing?
I wrote some How-Tos while working for Pacific Bell. I began writing poetry and prose when I met the woman who is now my wife. She, and facilitators at Writers’ Village university (WVU) were the first to read my writing. I continue taking writing courses at WVU, when I have time.

What is your writing process like?
I have been on the way to work and something will trigger a thought and out comes a poem. I was taking out the trash one day and a sight started me thinking, out came a poem. I was recently tagged to write a Christmas story, while laying in bed, I was thinking and had most of the story created in my mind before falling asleep. I woke up the next day and wrote the short story in less than an hour.

It also helps to put your fingers on the keyboard and your butt in the chair. If you keep your eyes and ears open, there is so much in the world to inspire a writer. Reading a good deal also helps your writing.

I try to read and write something every day. That is what a writer does.

When writing an article or a series of articles and given a deadline, I work on them until they are complete and submitted. I have never missed a deadline as a freelance writer.

I am more of a night person, so I usually writer in the late afternoon or evening.
I have also been known to work from late evening through to early morning. Probably because I worked from Midnight to 8am, and, also from 4pm to 12am for many years.

What do you like to read? Any favorite writers?
Asimov to Zola. I have read everything I can get my hands on, from the classics to Science Fiction.

As to what I like, it is subjective in my case. I don’t like authors that tend to be wordy. My Favorite author is Edgar Allen Poe. But I also read poetry, inspirational, self-help, philosophy, magazines, eZines, and more.

By reading everything, you can see how the writing affects you, and you can see what works and what doesn’t, this will help your own writing.


Any advice for writers?

A writer should always carry a notebook, pad of something to write down items they observe in daily interactions with people, animals, or just the place they live. These are all ingredients to creating a living breathing character in stories.

What are you working on now?
I have a children’s book, a YA-Adult, Adult, eBooks.

The YA-Adult is Science Fiction, the adult is about alternative lifestyle, the eBook I am currently working on is to answer some questions I have been asked in regards to freelance writing. I will be offering an eBook about freelance writing to writers that sign up for a specific online writers conference in 2009 where I plan on being a presenter for a freelance writing course I will be creating. I created a course for writers at Writers’ Village University that I facilitate; I have also facilitated other courses.

11 thoughts on “Meet Robert Medak

  1. Nancy Famolari

    Carrying a notebook is good advice.I should, but I usually forget. You’ve given me an incentive to try harder. Thanks, Robert.

    Good interview, thanks Margaret for giving us more insight about Robert.

    Like

    Reply
  2. KATHY STEMKE

    Great interview. I, too, do ghostwriting to make ends meet while I write picture books.

    How do you like Kansas compared to southern California? Is it easier to write in Kansas?

    I agree ideas for poems and books seem to pop out in the strangest places. You really do need to keep pen and paper in hand.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Margaret Fieland: Poetry and Prose » Meet Robert Medak -- Topsy.com

  4. Barbara Ehrentreu

    Peggy,
    Great interview, though I would love to see what the author looks like.:) I am in awe of you Robert for being able to maintain so many blogs. I have one and don’t post as much as I should. I also write YA, but not science fiction. I would be very interested in reading this book if you get it published.:)

    As for a notebook, I use the Notes app on my IPhone. I am constantly getting ideas on the road and have to jot them down. Of course, I am not driving when that happens. Though I have written ideas down on paper while driving.:) Great idea also to put butt in chair. Putting fingers on the keyboard definitely gets me writing until I have to stop.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

