Interview with author Irene Roth

Tell us something about yourself?
I write for adolescent girls and tween girls about all kinds of different psychological and social topics. I have a blog devoted to adolescent girls at http://www.adolescentgirlsblog.wordpress.com. I am also in the middle of writing three MG novels and tween novels for girls.

Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?
Kristi Holl is one of my favourite MG writer for adolescents. I also enjoy reading Melody Carlson’s novels and Deborah Reber’s books. I ready widely and continually. I also have a book review blog that keeps me very busy.

Tell us a bit about your book?
I’m in the middle of three E-books about adolescent girl’s self-confidence, self-esteem, and happiness.

What are you working on now?
‘m revising a MG novel that I am planning to send off to a publisher in October. I am waiting for responses for three other novels.

Why do you think it’s important for kids to know about history?

I think that kids need to know what came before them in order to have a better appreciation of the present. But also, I think that there is not enough emphasis on history in schools. Schools have to find a way to really make history interesting and relevant for kids.

What can teachers and parents do to help kids become interested in
history and to learn more about it?

I think that parents can help kids by bringing history books home from the library and reading them with their kids. They should also talk about history after dinner or on weekends.

What do you want readers to take away from your book?
I hope that I could inspire girls to not worry about fad diets and outside appearances as much and focus on their inner beauty. Girls have to realize that they are much more than a physical body. They have a mind, and spirit that is worth cultivating. And one smile, if it is offered up genuinely, can make another girl feel so much better about herself. Girls have to be ambassadors for each other.

Any tips for aspiring writers?
I have a five tips for aspiring writers:
1. write consistently
2. try to do the best that you can to perfect your writing skills
3. have faith in the process of drafting and redrafting
4. never give up
5. send out queries often.

Where can readers buy your book?
My ebooks should be available at my adolescent blog www.adolescentgirlsblog.wordpress.com around the end of november of this year.


Any last words?

Thank you for interviewing me. I really enjoyed this.

5 thoughts on “Interview with author Irene Roth

  1. Darcia Helle

    Irene, it’s great that you’re working toward helping teen girls build their confidence. Your books sound like the perfect read for all young girls trying to find their way through adolescence.

    Margaret, thanks for introducing us to a wonderful author!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Anonymous

Leave a Reply

