Just One of Those Weeks: Chapter Challenge Update, Writing Poetry, etc.

This week my chapter buddy, EJ and I again exchanged chapters. I’m so excited about how well both of our works in progress are going. I sent EJ my chapter 14. I’ve already written chapter 15 and hope to start on chapter 16 this weekend. I’m getting close to the end, I think — another couple of chapters and I can go back and start working on the second draft, or working on my next book, or both.

As you may know, I’m a regular follower of Robert Lee Brewer’s PoeticAsides blog Every Wednesday Robert posts a poetry writing prompt and a bunch of us post poems in the comments in response. This week’s prompt was “cold.” You can check out my contributions (there’s more than one) by following this link and searching for my name http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/CommentView,guid,d44e04fb-dcfc-4362-9437-9cc50d20ed03.aspx#commentstart

A bunch of us also twitter on poetry on Tuesdays, and a kindly fellow shared his Excel spreadsheet for tracking poetry submissions. I copied the three (yikes! that’s all???) outstanding submissions into the new tracker. I also entered the names of a few of my many poems that I should really get around to submitting. Thanks, Cameron.

Here is the third poem I posted, the one that is NOT in response to the prompt:

Just One of Those Weeks

Perhaps iit’s a crime
to poem in rhyme
instead of free verse.
If so, it’s my curse.

When words chime and jingle
I shiver and tingle
I’m determined to write them.
I hope you’ll recite them.

4 thoughts on “Just One of Those Weeks: Chapter Challenge Update, Writing Poetry, etc.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Margaret Fieland: Poetry and Prose » Just One of Those Weeks: Chapter Challenge Update, Writing Poetry, etc. -- Topsy.com

  2. Consuela Montefusco

    This may be the proper blog for any person who wants to obtain out about this subject. You realize so a great deal its just about tough to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Terrific stuff, just good!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

