Meet Janet Ann Collins, author of The Peril of the Sinister Scientist.

I’d like to introduce author Janet Ann Collins. Janet Ann Collins is the author of two fiction books for children. The Peril of the Sinister Scientist is about a middle school boy who thinks he was cloned from the blood on the Shroud of Turin because a scientist who had worked on that experiment is stalking him. Secret Service Saint is a picture book about Nicholas, who discovers the fun of doing secret good deeds and eventually becomes known as Santa Claus.
Collins is a retired teacher, enjoys public speaking and often teaches workshops at conferences. With her husband she raised three deaf foster sons with special needs in addition to their birth daughter, and has one grandson. They live in the beautiful Sierra foothills of Northern California.

Can you tell us something about The Peril of the Sinister Scientist?
The Peril of the Sinister Scientist by Janet Ann Collins is a tweener, or middle grade, novel about a boy who thinks he was cloned from the blood on the Shroud of Turin because a scientist who had worked on that experiment is stalking him. It is available to local bookstores and on many online sites, including Amazon where it can be seen at http://tinyurl.com/yge7uke The U.S. price is $7.95.

What is going on with your writing these days?
I have a book for young readers and I’m working on several things, including a middle grade fantasy about a girl who can communicate with animals by thought language. She and her Deaf brother travel to a foreign land trying to find and rescue their kidnapped mother. I’m also spending lots of time learning how to do marketing and publicity for my published books, write a column for the Antique Auction Explorer, sometimes write articles for other periodicals, and have two blogs, http://onwordsblog.blogspot.com and //janetanncollins.blogspot.com.

What are your future goals for your writing?
I’d like to have more books published as well as more articles in periodicals.

Can you describe a typical writing day for you?
I reserve two days a week for writing and squeeze some in on other days if possible. After I check my e-mail I work on my current project for several hours. Often I’ll do the laundry the same day so when the drier buzzes I can get up and move around for a few minutes, then get back to work. If I’m on a roll I may write more in the afternoon. Otherwise I use that time for plotting, planning, sending out submissions, and working on publicity for my books.

Do you have any pets? If so, introduce us to them.
We have a poodle/Bichon mix named Suds. My grandson says she must also be part Teddy Bear because she loves to snuggle. We got her in the Fall of 2009 from an animal recue group and aren’t sure how old she is. Suds is smart and good at understanding our gestures and facial expressions and at communicating with us. For instance, sometimes she puts her paw on my shoe if she wants to be taken for a walk.

What is your most precious memory?
My grandmother, who died when I was just over two years old. I’ll never forget her beautiful white hair, soft face, and eyes that looked at me with completely unconditional love.

What is your most embarrassing memory?
The time I got locked out of the house and tried to crawl in through the dog door. I got stuck and when I finally managed to reach a broomstick, unhook the latch, and squeeze back out I turned around to see the people at the bus stop across the street laughing at me. Of course I was wearing bright red slacks so they got quite a view of my rear end.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you be doing with your life?
Since I’m officially retired I could just sit around and read, but, much as I love books, that would get old fast. I’d probably do some part time teaching and maybe get involved in a drama group in addition to the volunteering I already do. But it’s hard to imagine a life without writing.

Where can readers find you?
On my blogs or on my website,

You can also check out my page on Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Janet-Ann-Collins/e/B002LFHNFC/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1266608108&sr=1-2-ent

14 thoughts on “Meet Janet Ann Collins, author of The Peril of the Sinister Scientist.

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    Wonderful interview. Love your book idea with the young girl who can communicate with animals, that’s a good one. I too am retired and I agree – I have to do some things other than just reading and writing or I’d go batty. I play in my church praise band, try out for and occasionally get bit parts in movies, play geriatric league basketball, lol … It’s important to keep living and experiencing to keep the writing fresh, hmm?

    The Old Silly

    Like

    Reply
  2. Dana Donovan

    Fun interview. It’s good to get the up-close & personal side of the author sometimes. Man am I glad I wasn’t asked about my most embarrassing memory in my last interview. Pictures at 11. NOT! Thanks Janet Ann & Margaret.

    Like

    Reply
  3. kathy stemke

    Thanks Janet and Peggy for an interesting interview! I’ve learned so much more about Janet.

    Your two published books are fascinating. Your plots are extremely creative. Your new book about the animal communicator sounds wonderful, too. Best of luck for continued success, Janet.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Karen Cioffi

    Janet, your books sound like great reads for kids. They are on my to get list for my grandsons when they’re a bit older. I especially like the one about the secret good doer – great concept.

    Great interview, Nancy.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Martha

    I think Secret Service Saint sounds like a lot of fun. I can’t wait to hear more about your new book. What child doesn’t dream of being able to communicate with animals. Great ideas for books.
    Martha Swirzinski

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

